ECFA Announces Appointments to Religious Organization Accountability and Policy Commission

After launching the Commission on Accountability and Policy for Religious Organizations at the request of U.S. Senator Charles Grassley (R-Iowa) in January, the Evangelical Council for Financial Accountability (ECFA) announced this week the appointment of 14 people to the commission. Evangelical Christian Credit Union (ECCU) President/CEO Mark G. Holbrook and ECFA President Dan Busby, who were both named ex officio members when the commission was created, now join a dozen additional members under the leadership of commission chair Michael Batts.

This commission was formed following a staff report that Senator Grassley issued in January, which focused on the financial practices of high-profile religious organizations. After releasing the findings of his three-year inquiry of six media-based Christian ministries, Grassley asked ECFA to spearhead an independent national effort to review and provide input on major accountability and policy issues affecting such organizations.

“These 14 individuals are proven and highly respected leaders with great wisdom and insight,” Batts said. “It is our hope and prayer that the tremendous leadership experience they bring will allow us to develop recommendations that are good for the religious sector and good for our country. Robust and meaningful input from a variety of faith groups and others in the nonprofit sector will be critically important in achieving that result.”

Commission members joining Busby and Holbrook include: Reverend Luis Cortes, Reverend Mark Davis, Dr. Stephen Douglass, Richard Hammar, Dr. Joel Hunter, Lauren Libby, Dr. Jo Anne Lyon, Dr. Mark Rutland, Reverend William Townes Jr., Bishop Kenneth Ulmer, Dr. Dolphus Weary, and David Wills.

To learn more about the Commission on Accountability and Policy for Religious Organizations, visit the ECFA website.